Families for Christmas

Below are the profiles of 14 children who are hoping for sponsor families this Christmas. You can grant a Christmas wish by choosing to sponsor one of these students for $38/month, providing a child with critical resources (educational assistance, medical care, food, clothing, hygiene materials, etc.) and the opportunity to discover their God-given potential! Each child's parent or guardian also receives training and assistance in entrepreneurial skills to lead their family on a path toward self-reliance. Learn more about our Hope 4others program

  • Abdi Atayle #3001

    I am 14 years old and in the 8th grade. I love studying history and playing soccer. I live with my mother and six siblings. (My father left a few years ago.) Since my mom has a big load to carry for our family, I help every day with fetching water and assisting with the shopping. My family and I pray for a sponsor every day!


  • Firaol Tadesse #3004

    At 17 years old, I'm very proud of myself for succeeding to the 11th grade this year! I like studying English and I would love to practice my English by writing to my sponsor. Because I am nearing my graduation from the program (two years hopefully), I hope I will be chosen by a sponsor soon. I know it would encourage me to have someone praying for me and supporting my education. I would work hard to make my sponsor proud!

  • Bontu Asefa #3016

    This year I am repeating the 4th grade at 11 years old. School is difficult for me, mainly because of hardships at home. My mother suffers from mental health issues, so I have to help her a lot. I live with my mom, dad, and sister. I love my family, and I hope one day soon I will have a sponsor family, too. 


  • Habtenesh Mulugeta #3019

    I am 16 years old and in the 8th grade. I really enjoy studying science. I live with my mom, dad, and four siblings. My father struggles with mental health issues so it's hard for him to find work. I like to help my family by making coffee, baking injera, and washing clothes. It would be very encouraging to have a sponsor choose me. I know it is a blessing!


  • Gelane Teshome #3021

    I am 14 years old and I'm repeating the 7th grade this year. I had to drop out of school last year to help my mom at home. She is HIV+ and gets sick often. I do want to succeed in school. I love art, especially making sketches. I would love to show my future sponsor some of my artwork! For now, I keep them at home where I live with my mom, dad, brother, and three sisters. 


  • Gudeta Abiyot #3022

    I am 12 years old and in the 5th grade. I love it! My favorite subject is Language Arts. I live with my mother, who has HIV. It's just me and her. She gets sick often, so I help her as much as I can by doing the shopping and fetching water. I want to be a doctor one day to help people who are sick like my mom. I know a sponsor would help me realize my dream!


  • Rajif Damtew #3037

    I'm in 7th grade now and my favorite subject is English. I also like to draw sketches. I'd love to show my drawings to my sponsor! I am 12 years old, and I live with my mom and five siblings at home. We are a big family, but I would love to have a sponsor family, too!


  • Robe Hailu #3039

    I'm 13 years old and in the 8th grade. I love to study Amharic (Language Arts) and play soccer. I'm really good at sports and I get high marks in school! I live with my aunt in a household of four. My aunt has raised me because my mom had me out of wedlock and could not support me. I know how important it is to have people in my life who love me and take care of me, which is why I look forward to getting a sponsor one day who can encourage and support me!

  • Taresa Tadasa #3046

    I'm 16 years old and currently in the 11th grade. I work very hard in school. My best subject is English. My goal is to graduate the program in two years and enter the university! I pray for a sponsor to choose me so he can encourage me in my life and support my education. And if he comes to visit me, I can show him how to play ping-pong! It is fun!


  • Naol Sori #3047

    I am 14 years old in the 8th grade. We learn three languages in school, and my favorite subject is English. I love all kinds of sports, especially team sports like soccer. After my mom passed away, my six siblings and I came to live with my grandparents. Having a sponsor would be a great help and encouragement to me and my family. 


  • Obse Teferi #3050

    I live with my older sister in a household of five. I got a late start in my education, so I am only in the 4th grade at 12 years old. But I completed my last school year with the highest marks of all the children in the CarePoint program! I am determined to do well this year, too. I know I would make my future sponsor proud!


  • Tariku Teshome #3060

    I am 13 years old and I love to play soccer! I am currently in 5th grade. I struggle in school because I have a speech difficulty, but I do enjoy learning. My family (mother, father, and sister) encourage me in my studies. I would like a sponsor to encourage me in my studies and life training, too. 


  • Behailu Anteneh #3082

    I am 15 years old. I am repeating the 5th grade this year. My mom pulled me out of school last year because she needed me to earn money as a daily laborer. But the CarePoint leaders have convinced her to allow me to return to school so I can prepare for a better future. I want to do this, too. I love studying Civics and Ethical Education. With a sponsor's help, I think I can become a great leader one day and help the people of my community. 

  • Ayantu Balcha #3083

    Now in 8th grade, I love studying English and playing jump rope. I am a good student because I am bright and I work hard, but sometimes I miss school when I get sick. I am 14 years old and I have HIV. I live with my mother, who is also HIV-positive. We pray for a sponsor so I can get the medical care and supplemental food I need to stay healthy and in school. I want to succeed!